08
May
09

Conjuring up the perfect man

I have a good friend who firmly believes that finding a man is just a case of asking the universe for one.

My friend told me to write down everything I want in a man, listing the qualities my dream man has, what he looks like, how we relate and everything that is important to me. I have to write it like he already exists, is hidden around the corner just asking for me to beckon him forth in to my life. What the hell, it can’t hurt to try right? So I did, and I put my list in to an envelope and put it in the bottom of my underwear drawer (because where else would be more appropriate?). Here is an edited (ie somewhat clean) version of my list:

My man adores me, thinks that I am the sexiest woman alive and laughs at my jokes.

My man is handsome, a gentleman, makes me laugh until I almost pee my pants and is great company.

My man is between 28 and 43 years old.

My man is a wonderful kisser, is romantic and thoughtful.

My man will love my daughter like she is his own child, want to have more children and be a fantastic father.

My man works in a creative field and is very happy with what he does for a living.

If my man has baggage, it doesn’t outweigh mine.

My man loves dogs.

My man lives alone.

My man has lots of friends.

My man loves music, has a huge collection of music in his house and car, and gets my diverse taste in music.

My man can rave with the best of them, but is great company watching movies on the sofa too.

My man has a good relationship with his mother.

My man now comes.

(I’ll let you know when he does.)


4 Responses to “Conjuring up the perfect man”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Edwardsen
    May 8, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Sounds pretty perfect!
    I know someone who did that but was WAY more specific, like she’d dreamed him – he’ll be this tall and he’ll have a beard and he’ll like this kind of food and he’ll have this kind of hobby – and she saw him out and knew… they’ve been married for years. Really. It was weird.
    But it’s a good exercise – lining up your priorities. Then again, I swore last time I bought a house it was going to have a fireplace. No WAY was I going to get a house without a fireplace, etc., and the rest of the house fit so well – so here I sit on cold, fire-perfect nights thinking “My next house is going to have a fireplace.” Then again, I’m not sure anything on your list is worth giving up!

    • 2 oohlola
      May 19, 2009 at 10:25 am

      My list is really much longer and more specific (he will be 6’2, he will have blonde hair etc) but I didn’t want to seem too picky on the blog! The picky stuff I’m willing to move on though.

      You’ll get your fireplace some day!

  2. 3 bloggingmom67
    May 9, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Great list … the thing is, when you really meet “Mr. Right” he may not have all these qualities, but he might have other qualities that are even more important — that you never even though of.

    My husband is like that. If I’d made a list of what he wanted, some wouldn’t have fit him. But he’s really so much better for me than the mystery man I yearned for in my head. For example, he’s the only one in the world who really know when I’m full of it. He can see through me like no one else. Never thought of that as a quality, but it’s great. It’s like having a mirror into my soul.

    Anyway — good luck in love.

    • 4 oohlola
      May 19, 2009 at 10:20 am

      Thanks for the well wishes. You know, I’m still open to whatever comes along, but some of the stuff on that list is non-negotiable this time around. I just want someone who is happy with themselves first and foremost.


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


