18
Apr
09

Running in to Mr Superlover

The sun is shining in Halifax at last, people are out in their gardens and it seems that spring is actually here. So, I knew it was just a matter of time before I ran in to a mistake I made: the neighbor I was in lust with last summer, Nick. What we shared wasn’t even a fling, he was supposed to be a friend with benefits but the friendship never really happened and the benefits were of questionable quality.

Nick is beyond hot. Tall, muscular, smart and employed (doesn’t live with his mum either, bonus!), the first time I saw him up on scaffolding and bare-chested as he fixed up his house I swooned. He really is an absolutely beautiful specimen of mankind. We’d actually been fixed up by a mutual friend on Facebook when I first moved to Halifax last June, he’d pissed me off with some comment and I’d decided not to pursue him, but then I ran in to him two blocks away from my house, where he lived. Because he was so incredibly gorgeous, I invited him over for a beer.

We hooked up, it was nothing special but I put it down to the fact that it was our first time and thought it might get better. Nick came round and helped me fix some stuff in my house, he was a sweetheart, I looked after his dog one day and he asked if he could come round later. He did, we did, but the second time was pretty bad.  Then I had a date with the guy who called his mother a bitchwhore and I was feeling so crappy I invited Nick round to make it feel better. The hook-up was okay, still not that special but I felt a connection. (There I go again being a girl, of course I’d started to like him, especially compared to the rest of the losers I was meeting.) We got on really well and were talking about doing other stuff together, no way was there any relationship talk but I thought the friendship side was going to happen.

Then nothing. I’d run in to him outside his place, which I have to walk past to go ANYWHERE, including to take my kid to daycare, and we’d make small talk but I’d been given the brush off. I invited him over and felt like an idiot when he wasn’t interested. Then he contacted a friend on lavalife with some cheesy message about how big and strong he was and I wanted to gag. I got fed up of notices coming up on my Facebook feed from girls to him about how much they were looking forward to seeing him and so I unfriended him (not because I was jealous so much as I was starting to feel like the least liked member of his Facebook hareem). Nick loved himself, but had every right to I guess, he had so much going for him and obviously no problems attracting girls.

However, like I said, I have to walk past his house at least twice a day and I don’t want awkwardness so I asked for a ride to Home Depot one day (we are both renovating houses, one of the things we had in common) to clear the air and let him know we were cool. We went it was fine, but awkward. That was in September. I was genuinely sad that we couldn’t be friends. On Christmas Eve I emailed to say that I was hoping we could go for a beer sometime, he emailed back the next day to say sure, but he was in Mexico so he would call me when he got back. Of course he didn’t.

So, today as I dragged my daughter to the store in her wagon, wearing track pants and with no make-up on, there he was in his yard. I tried to walk by but he called me over and started making small-talk, I was polite but when he said he hadn’t seen me around I just had to leave. At least the first awkward encounter is over. And, I totally don’t find him as hot as my mind had built him up to be over the past five months. Maybe I’ll just have to cross the street before I get to his place from now on, and remember not to play so close to home next time.

Oh, and for light relief you might want to check out this video, cheesy but too true  http://bit.ly/M9wt6 One of my girlfriends sent it to me because she thought it rang true of some of my experiences!


7 Responses to “Running in to Mr Superlover”


  1. 1 fantasiaspillowtalk
    April 18, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    LMAO – oh dear. It is a blessing that you don’t find him attarctive – or AS attractive anymore.
    Was it perhaps a case of “why buy the cow …?” Get a good dildo my friend!

  2. 2 Rob
    April 19, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    The sun is shining here too in Toronto (might as well have some more of Canuk-land represented here! lol). But no worries. I’m sure that eventually you’ll meet the dude who’se just right for you and your little one! The long cold winter is *finally* over and spring is here so have faith! Btw, I enjoyed watching your *cheesy video* Scary stuff, eh? (evil grin)

    • 3 oohlola
      May 19, 2009 at 10:27 am

      Thanks for the comment and well wishes Rob. I’m hoping that summer (ie serious patio time, BBQs and beach visits) will make it easier to meet quality guys.

  3. 4 Sammy
    May 3, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I’ve been around a long time….very long time and have learned that the really good looking “hot” men are idiots. They’re all players and you played into his hands. They think they don’t have to make an effort with sex because the woman should be grateful to even be in bed with them.
    You deserve a nice man….keep looking…you’ll find him, but don’t go on looks!

    • 5 oohlola
      May 19, 2009 at 10:26 am

      Thanks for your comments. I think part of my problem is that I’m attracted to these hot guys with either no brains or huge egos. Trying to change my dating type.

  4. 6 LQ
    June 10, 2009 at 6:11 am

    Nothing wrong with getting your “groove” on, but the problem is your trying to have a relationship (yes, being friends with someone you slept with is trying to have a relationship) with a breathing dildo. These “hot guys” you’re attracting to are nothing more than living dildo’s there to get you off. If you treat the situations like that, you’re frustration level will reduce significantly. Everyone wants a hot guy/girl, but the trick, in my humble opinion (and I’ve made every mistake in the book), is you have to find the cool guy/girl that you find hot. Don’t put too much effort in the living dildo’s. They’re good for one night or one month stands, but having moon lit walks along the beach and candle lit dinners with them is the wrong path to pursue, much less consider.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


