31
Mar
09

Introducing little old me

Considering how I’m about to share the intricate details of my life with you good people, I suppose I had better introduce myself. I’m a single momma living in Halifax and swimming through the murky waters of single life here. Halifax has a bit of a reputation for sucking as a place to meet other singles, but I’m not about to give up hope as I only moved here last June and I had a lot of fun in the summer (followed by a massive drought in the winter save a brief fling with my Brooklyn boy toy in early December). Lets see, what else? I’m 32, originally from London (England, not Ontario) and have lived on three continents. My kid is aged two and unbelievably awesome, I get to travel lots for my job and do all kinds of interesting stuff in the name of research for stories for Click and elsewhere.

Since getting divorced two years ago, I’ve had a lot of fun but not met anyone special. (At least not special as in the good meaning of that word.) I’ve dated a clutch of weirdos, including a guy that believed he had been abducted by aliens, several men in their thirties that still live with their mom, one that called his mother a “Bitchwhore” and one that was so incredibly negative I left the date feeling downright depressed.

Not that I was the perfect date I’m sure. One brunch date I actually broke down in tears when the poor unsuspecting guy asked whether I got on okay with my baby’s father. Its taken me some time to stop wearing my broken heart on my sleeve, but nowadays I’m not broken hearted and just bloody grateful not to be married to someone I really never had very much in common with. So here I am, honest as the day is long and ready to share my adventures with the blogosphere. Am I scared? You betcha! But I promise to share the highs and the lows in the hope you’ll stick around for the ride.

In my pyjamas in the lair from which I'll be writing!Ï

9 Responses to “Introducing little old me”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Edwardsen
    April 1, 2009 at 4:17 am

    Those do sound like pretty bad dates, even for Halifax (kidding!) — can’t wait to read about your dating exploits.

  2. April 1, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Welcome to the bloggiverse!

    I’m a single mom, too, but prefer not to date. Plus, I live in the country in Mississippi and let’s just say…..there’s not a big dating pool here! LOL!

    My daughter’s 9 and I’ve been divorced since she was about 17 months. Her father left when she was 5 weeks old so it’s just been her and I for the past 9 years.

    Anyway, welcome and I’ll be back to read more.

    • 3 oohlola
      April 10, 2009 at 12:28 am

      Thank you! Dating is horrific, I was so bloody smug about being married so I guess this is payback. I shouldn’t say its all horrid, I have met a few lovely men, its just not worked out for reasons of geography and, well, I don’t know, timing I guess!

  3. April 1, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    The guy who called his mother ‘bitchwhore’ wasn’t the most negative of the bunch? WOW.

    (Also? Am so glad that you’re in the blogosphere! Huzzah!)

    • 5 oohlola
      April 10, 2009 at 12:26 am

      Thanks, and Mr Negative was unbelievably negative, about everything and everyone. He thought he was hot shit, but no, he was NOT!

  4. April 9, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Hello from here – Vancouver – to there – Halifax & welcome to the everywhere that is the blogosphere. Lovely to have you here, especially for vicarious tales of snogging & cougarage.
    (maybe not of men who call their mothers bitchwhores though. yikes. Please tell me he wasn’t one of the ones living with his?)

    • 7 oohlola
      April 10, 2009 at 12:25 am

      He wasn’t one of the ones still living with his mum. It was an awful, awful date. Especially because the first date had gone so well, and he waited until date 2 to unleash the crazy.

  5. April 10, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    If it sucks in Halifax, I can’t imagine what it is called here in St. John’s….dare I say the well is empty. The longer one lives alone the easier it gets and the more selective too..which can kind of suck also because there are lots of men, just not one I would want..Good luck on your journey. I’ll be following you.

  6. 9 Tom Power
    June 27, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Can we get together sometime, my name is Tom and live in Fall river, phone [removed]


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


