27
Sep
08

So she’s pretty much moved in…

… which you can tell by the fact that, well, her stuff is everywhere.

And you know what, I kind of like it. I’ve even made a few compromises. For instance, the Gretchen Moll-autographed Bettie Page pic? I’ve taken it down. Likewise the Bettie Page fridge magnets and my Playboy Playmate 1977 Calendar (a v. important year in my adolescence), and I’ve put away my Pamela Anderson beer coasters. It must be love!

However, disagreements are rearing their ugly heads. For instance: what do you think the cut-off age is for having a lava lamp? The Texas Twister apparently thinks it doesn’t behoove someone of my advanced age and sophistication to have this ’60s relic. I don’t know, I think they’re quaint and kitschy but also kind of cool. I mean, at least I’m not ordering badger skulls off eBay like one friend of mine. Not just a badger skull, but also a skunk and a beaver. (I’m not making this up.) And his (live-in) girlfriend is 100 per cent supportive! Or so he claims. Why can’t I get a little understanding for my little old lava lamp, which I almost never even turn on? Does she hear me complaining about her black light Jimi Hendrix poster?

Okay, I made that last one up. I wish she had a black light Jimi Hendrix poster! Well, maybe not Hendrix, but something with sorcerers and hobbits and dragons.

To be fair, however, the Texas Twister is putting up with a few things… for example, the original art I have hanging on the walls. Without going into too much detail, let’s just say I do enjoy the odd comic book (“graphic novel” to you snobs), and my tastes in art reflect this, as well as my limited budget. And she seems to have no trouble with this. (Though she did draw the line at buying me, for my birthday, this lovely vinyl set of figures based on characters by the fabulous Jim Woodring: http://www.panikstoybox.com/pd-black-white-pupshaw-pushpaw-vinyl-figure-set-by-jim-woodring.cfm.) She’s also putting up with my vinyl Drinky Crow, Simpsons toys,

One of the things she puts up with

One of the things she puts up with

Another...

Another...

and the cats–which, in the case of the female, Minnie, seems to be a taxing proposition. But I think that might be the subject of another blog.

and another...

... and most terrifying of all, Minnie the cat.

... and most terrifying of all, Minnie the cat.

But then, look what I have to deal with--bobby pins in the tub!

But then, look what I have to deal with--bobby pins in the tub!


2 Responses to “So she’s pretty much moved in…”


  1. 1 Pak Tam
    October 2, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Nice. Thanks. 🙂 Pak Tam

  2. 2 Ashley
    October 6, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Lava Lamps are all good; however, it does depend on the base of the lamp. Mine has a modern silver/chrome type base (which matches all my furniture), allowing me the pleasure of a Lava Lamp without compromising style or class.


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


