27
Sep
08

I love you vs. a ride to work

At lunch with a friend last week, he wondered when the proper time was to say “I love you.” He hasn’t yet, even though he’s practically living with the girlfriend he’s been with for a few months. And he thinks she’s becoming annoyed by this (not sure if she’s said the 3 little words to him). “But I give her a ride to work every morning,” he whined. “Isn’t that the same thing?”

If it is, I wish I’d known!

I told the Texas Twister this, and she said, all things considered, she’d prefer the ride to work.

But it brings up a valid question–when do you say the fateful words?  Once said, there’s no going back—you can’t exactly change your mind. “Oh sorry, I didn’t mean it, it just kind of tripped off my tongue.” There’s no excuse, unless you’re like the high school football hero in “Paradise By the Dashboard Light”: “And when the feeling came upon me/Like a tidal wave/I started swearing to my god and on my mother’s grave/That I would love you to the end of time.”

Being the cautious type, I’m usually the last to say it. When I do I say it it’s usually when she’s deep in REM sleep, or has her headphones on. Or I’ll say it under my breath, or cough in the middle. “What? What was that?” Another friend I talked to about this wondered if he says it too often. If you have to ask…

But hey, you’re putting yourself in a vulnerable position, so I can understand a person’s hesitancy. What it all boils down to, I guess, is how early you want to get up.


0 Responses to “I love you vs. a ride to work”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


