24
Jun
08

Toronto music conference wrap-up

Well it’s been over a week since we arrived home in Vancouver from the North by Northeast music conference in Toronto but I still feel like there are some loose ends to tie up. For one thing, I want to convey to you all just how we KEPT PARTYING until the very last minute. How, exactly, you ask? Well, even though the conference was officially over last Sunday (June 15), we still managed to inveigle our way into the MuchMusic Video Awards pre-party at a place called Tryst. We not only walked the red carpet and hobnobbed with lawyers, rock stars and VJs, but we managed to get our new friend Aviva Thierry in as well. It’s always better if you can share the excitement, I always say, especially with someone who might be new to the whole schmoozing thing. Wingy and I met Aviva when we took shelter during a torrential downpour at a Shopper’s Drug Mart across from our hotel, and as it happens she’s a singer/songwriter herself, so she took to the music industry schmooze like a duck to water.

To tell the truth, Wingy and I were pretty fatigued by then, so we weren’t too bummed when we had to leave the party to catch our plane. However, the five-hour delay at Pearson Airport cast a bit of a pallor on the whole thing. All in all though I’d have to classify the trip as a success, as Wingy managed to pawn his business card off on everyone from a toddler on the bus to British folk-rocker Billy Bragg.

Now a word or two about this blog, and blogs in general. It turns out something I wrote last weekend came back to haunt me. Someone I have become quite fond of was hurt by something I wrote, and I apologize for that. I will certainly be more circumspect in the future, as I try to navigate writing about dating and relationships while moving in the direction of the latter. Hmmm, can I be any more vague?

This brings up the whole blog thing–this isn’t the first time I’ve gotten in trouble for something I’ve written. One incident caused a friend to not talk to me for a few weeks last year. And Wingy periodically complains that I hurt his feelings by putting words in his mouth: “You’re always writing that I’m saying things I didn’t say,” he says. I guess I’ll have to be more careful in the future. “That’s right,” says Wingy. “After all, I’m the most lovingest person in the world.”


0 Responses to “Toronto music conference wrap-up”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


