08
Dec
07

Rainy retail daze

It is pouring down rain in LA, and I am thinking nostalgically of Cabo. Oh wait, it poured for a day there too. Okay, I am thinking nostalgically of August.

Apparently some people are out in the swirling mix of holiday parties, but I just can’t bear it, considering the horrible weather and sketched-out freeway conditions I’d have to brave in order to reach any such party. Actually, the annual Hermosa Christmas Tree lighting was tonight in my ‘hood, and I could have gone to that, but…um, water + electricity + Not a Good Thing.

Actually I am somewhat over-exaggerating the hermit situation. I went hot-tubbing at a friend’s house on Sunday evening, out to a press event at the Chamberlain (cute little property, v. tucked away, nice rooftop) on Monday, and then to a champagne tasting on Tuesday at Il Moro in West LA. I was an hour late to the event because I sat in jam-packed traffic two miles away from my exit for 30 minutes. Truthfully, the kind of situation that makes you want to stay tucked in the South Bay.

However, I think I may venture out tomorrow…my friend Nadia wants me to go on an Xmas-themed pub crawl (what does that mean? Dress like an elf and only drink spiked eggnog?). And I have recently–and intriguingly–learned that Kevin Bronson, my editor at the Times Calendar, DJs at Spaceland from time to time, including tonight. Kevin writes an outstanding music blog. He’s been covering buzz bands here in the city for years, and I can only imagine what his DJ sets are like. I would totally go. If I had a driver. Or a teleporter.

Elsewhere in the city, Paperfish and Yamato (two fancy-pants restaurants) opened on the West Side, right on the heels of Hidden, which wasn’t hidden at all, but actually impossible to miss. Seriously, you could hear it from a half-mile away. Citizens of Humanity, Lisa Kline and the Fashion Co-op are throwing sample sales, and there are more pop-up shops around town this weekend than I can possibly count. Tis the season to spend money.

 Or, alternatively, to run away to Hawaii or Costa Rica for a few weeks and avoid the holiday storms altogether.


0 Responses to “Rainy retail daze”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

RSS Click by Lavalife Blog RSS

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Archives


